Safety Harbor Resort & Spa at Tampa Bay

This week, I am visiting my family in Tampa, Florida. It was a spontaneous, last-minute decision (unlike me), but I’m so glad I decided to come. My sister is an expert at convincing people to do these things! But I also want to take advantage of my time off to see family that I don’t often have a chance to see during the usual work-life grind. I am visiting my cousins and their four beautiful boys (photos to come). The girls booked a spa day as a treat. What mom of four boys doesn’t need a spa day, anyway?!

We visited the Safety Harbor Resort & Spa at Tampa Bay. I learned a little bit of history while I was there too, which I love. Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto reached the shores of what is now Tampa Bay, landing near mineral springs that were used by natives for nearly 10,000 years. He believed he had found the Fountain of Youth, and named the waters “Espiritu Santo Springs”–Springs of the Holy Spirit. The springs were said to cure certain ailments, drawing thousands of visitors to the city every year. The spa is now located there. I loved this story of healing, whether it is factual or theoretical. You can read the full story below.

We tried to do as much as we could before it was time to pick up the kids from school in the afternoon. I managed to make it to a Pilates class. It was my first time trying Pilates, and I really liked it. (Although I’m a yoga lover.) I’d like to try another class again. After Pilates, I had a twenty five minute, back and shoulder massage, followed by a facial. The massage was great, since I carry a lot of my stress in my neck and shoulders. I enjoyed the facial too. I had a pro peel, which contains four different acids that provides a deep exfoliation for your skin. I mentioned in a previous post, that my skin has been extremely irritated lately, most likely from the stress of my transition in moving back home. I told the esthetician that I needed all the help I could get! Overall, we thought the service was average, but we enjoyed the day together anyway.

Espiritu Santo Springs

safety harbor entrance

fountain

After our spa treatment, we had lunch at the resort. I ordered clam chowder to start and surf and turf for my entre. It was yummy. We finished off our meals with cappuccinos, which were delicious! After we picked up the troops, we headed home. I wanted to continue the day of relaxation, so I topped it off with poolside yoga and meditation. It’s been a very long time since I meditated, and it felt wonderful. I really hope to incorporate more meditation throughout my day. I’m grateful for the day, and I hope to visit more health and wellness spas.

Surf n Turf: Petite filet mignon and Gulf shrimp with rice pilaf and sauteed vegetables

Petite filet Mignon and Gulf shrimp with rice pilaf and sauteed vegetables

safety harbor cappuccino

Leave a Reply

