A New Orleans eating affair

This weekend, I indulged in a real, New Orleans eating experience. It’s been a stressful transition since I moved home from Atlanta, and I needed it. On Saturday night, I went down to the french quarter and had beignets and cafe au lait at Cafe du Monde. My favorite! Cafe du Monde is a historic coffee shop in New Orleans that opened in 1862. It’s famous for it’s squared, doughnuts served hot with white powdered sugar and cafe au laits–which is half coffee, half steamed milk. It’s the only way I like my coffee! (I admit that I am a bit of a snob about it.)

Beignets and cafe au lait

Yesterday was a beautiful Sunday afternoon–perfect for crawfish. I don’t know how to describe crawfish, other than it’s a delicious crustacean that’s seasoned well with cajun spices and traditionally served with corn on the cob and potatoes. You have to meticulously peel the tails off, so it takes some work, but it’s well worth it!

Crawfish

Crawfish

Leave a Reply

