Me & Zumba

Last night I came to the conclusion that I’ve lost any rhythm and coordination I once had. I’ve always loved dancing. I started in ballet, and went on to join the dance team in middle-school. I learned how to dance salsa and bachata in high school. In college I loved to go out and dance the night away.

Somewhere along the way, I lost that ability. I went to a Zumba class last night and I must have been a sight for soar eyes. I prefer structured workouts rather than freestyle workouts in the gym, so I thought Zumba would be a good fit. I wonder where I lost my rhythm? It was nowhere to be found in that studio yesterday. I was behind on 8-counts and spinning backwards when my classmates were face-forward. My arms were flailing and my cross-steps were all over the place. My eyes were fixated on the instructor’s moves for the entire hour, as I struggled to keep up.

I loved it. All I could think of was how happy I was to be healthy enough to be dancing off beat in a Zumba class.

photo15

One thought on “Me & Zumba

  1. Pingback: Dressing For Your Zumba Class | searchmyshoes

Leave a Reply

