Potato Patatta

My mom made one of my favorite breakfast dishes for me today. Well, it’s not really a breakfast food, but I made it one. It’s baked potato, mashed up with lemon juice, olive oil and salt & pepper. She made it for me a lot last year when I was sick and having difficulty eating almost anything. Last October, before I was diagnosed with FMF, I underwent surgery to have my gallbladder removed. After my surgery, I developed h-pylori, a bacterial infection in the stomach. For weeks, I could hardly eat anything without it upsetting my stomach, nor did I have an appetite (which is TOTALLY unlike me). During one of my many hospital visits, my mom came to Atlanta to take care of me. For a long time, all I could manage to eat was a plain baked potato. She added some garnishes which are typical of any Mediterranean meal…sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers, marinated olives, and olive oil and zaatar (a mixture of spices) used for dipping with bread. Thankfully, today I enjoyed it in much better health.

photo12

Mashed potato with Mediterranean garnishes

Leave a Reply

