Sew Me Something

When I made the decision to leave CNN, I promised myself that I would use this time to try things that I always wanted to do. Today, I joined a sewing class. When the teacher asked me how I become interested in sewing, I gave her an honest answer. I woke up one day and thought to myself, I want to learn how to sew. After I was initially diagnosed, I had a desire to try a lot of new things. (Like going blonde!) I have a list of things I want to do this year, and yes, sewing is one of them.

I love the class so far. My teacher, Ms. Paula, is an adorable woman who has been teaching sewing for 43 years. She has a deep, southern accent, and when I asked her what she thought of my pattern, she said, “Well, darling that’s just fabulous!” And she meant it too. She’s kind, and patient and has a wicked sense of humor. She reminded me of how inspiring it feels to learn from a great teacher.

There are three other women in the class. A middle-aged woman who was sewing an quilt, an older woman that was sewing Saints pajamas for her grandson, and a younger woman in her early 20’s who is an aspiring designer. I enjoy the diversity of the class. I don’t know the first thing about sewing, and they didn’t make me feel awkward about it. I love that. It felt great to learn something new and fun, without pressure or expectations. I can’t wait for the next class!

photo4

My new sewing supplies.

photo6

Can you figure out what my first pattern is?

photo5

…an apron!

photo7

One of Ms. Paula’s many sewing machines.

Leave a Reply

